There was a time not so long ago, I was a contractor that had been hired to clean and seal around 2,000 sqft of concrete floor for another contractor.
This particular concrete floor was almost three hours away. I accepted the job under the condition that the floor was free of equipment and debris. I showed up to the job site with a crew of five. It was supposed to be an “in and out” job.
We showed up just after the construction crew had left for the day and found a floor covered with construction debris, equipment, tools, etc. To make matters worse, that part of the building had four large bay doors that hadn’t been installed yet and it was a very windy, stormy, rainy night in the coastal town it was located in. So the floor was covered with rain and sand. The building also hadn’t been wired for power, so there were no lights.
We were pushing a deadline, so I knew this wasn’t going to fly.
I called the Superintendent and explained to him what we showed up to. Apparently, he had knocked off about three hours before we had shown up and had been drinking at a local bar. So his response was, “Just do it.”
So….we did.
I hung up the phone, turned to my crew and said, “Scuttle it.” Then we proceeded to throw tools, debris, equipment, everything outside the open bays onto the sand for the stormy weather to care for. Everything that was on that concrete floor was thrown outside onto the sand in the rain. Then we sprayed out 30 gallons of concrete seal onto the floor, in the dark, and left.
The next morning my phone was burning up with messages. The Superintendent was pissed. But I didn’t call him back.
Instead, those five guys and myself showed up to his jobsite and let ourselves in his job trailer. The first thing that came out of my mouth when I saw his face was, “So, I was just tellin my crew about how you weren’t going to pay us?”
My crew were kind of a rough looking bunch. Most of them were ex cons that had trouble finding jobs, but I hired them and they listened ta me.
His face looked pale. Could have been from all the drinking he did the night before or it could have been from the look on our faces when we stood there in his office contemplating not getting paid.
At any rate, I don’t think he was used to being put on the spot like that.
He stuttered and stammered about how poorly the job was done. How all of his tools and equipment had been thrown out into the rain onto the sand, etc.
My response? Pay me.
See at that point, I couldn’t really give a crap what he thought of our job or my crew. And I couldn’t have cared less if he’d ever call me for work again. We had an agreement, he broke it, and was unapologetic about it. So in my mind, he had it comin.
He paid us. Not only for the piss poor job we did, but also to come back and fix it. He was on a deadline and I knew it. He had no time to take other bids and get another crew in.
Hired us again too. Every floor we ever did for him after that was cleared and ready.
Had another time this guy was into me for over 5 grand.
Wouldn’t have been that big a deal, but at the time that 5 grand had been made good by a Factor of mine and if it wasn’t paid, I owed it. So, I was pretty motivated to get my Factor that money.
I made calls and left messages. Tried to be understanding and polite. Nothing worked.
So, I waited for his busiest night. A night when I knew there would be lots of people outside his business. Then I showed up with a crew and we just stood outside his business and waited to be let inside. Our presence was noticed in short order and predictably he sent his largest bouncer and two other guys up to meet us. Undoubtedly to tell us to leave.
Only, as the shadow of the 6’5″ long haired, long bearded, black trench coat wearing bouncer stepped into the light, I realized that I recognized him.
He was a friend of mine that I had no idea had been working there. So his response when he saw me was, “Hey Jake!” and he leaned over to give me a hug…as I looked past him to the eyes of his boss. He’s like, “So what you doin’ here?” and I’m like, he owes me.
This guy knew me and he didn’t want any problems. I didn’t want to cause him any problems. But he knew how this was going ta go. I needed to talk with his boss and I had no mind of leavin’ until that happened. So, he walked right back to his boss and said, “You need to talk to this guy.” And with that, my crew and I were let in.
The owner made a lot of excuses. Lots of reasons why he hadn’t paid. I ignored all of them and simply said, “Pay me.”
Behind on your mortgage? Pay me. Wife is sick and dying? Pay me. Baby needs diapers or baby food? Pay me.
See, if it comes down to my family eating or yours?…my babies gonna eat.
He paid me. That night.
Now, I’m not sure why he waited until that night to shit out 5 grand, but I’m guessin it had a bit to do with my willingness to come back after everyone was gone, and strip the place of everything that had any value. (Technically, I never actually said that though)
All that to say….
When you close our businesses…Pay me.
When you shut down hiking trails and lakes…Pay me.
When you impede my ability to go to work and feed my family…Pay me.
When you say I can’t go out without a mask? Without a shot? Pay me.
I can’t visit my loved ones when they’re sick? I can’t attend their funeral? Pay me.
You remove my ability to get a job or to collect unemployment because I don’t want to take your shot? Pay me.
You want to cancel summer? Cancel holidays? Tell me I can’t be around my friends or family? Pay me.
All of those things require me and mine to suffer a loss. By the order and rules of business, I have claim. Pay me.
See, I been hearing a lot about people speaking out against another Stimulus.
And I’m thinkin it’s a bit dumb. They shut down the economy. Not just here in the States, all over. They got new regulations and mandates for what qualifies you to maintain your employment. You can’t buy toilet paper without being told to put on a face mask. They owe you. You are suffering a loss. DEMAND payment.
Every man, woman, and child that has lost income, revenue, a business, and opportunity during all of this, should be paid.
They owe you. Those politicians in the government owe you. Tell them to pay you. Then you TAKE THAT MONEY and do something with it.
Sure, you could piss it away on new shiny stuff, mini vacations, trips, various indulgences. Or you could take the extra money and time off of work to actually work on something you enjoy. Doing something for you, for your family and for your future?
Our governments are set to burn the world. Impose their global reset. Whatever. Tell them to pay you.
If they want to shut down the globe, YOU ARE OWED.
Copyright©2021 Jacob C. Larson All Rights Reserved
***Ok just to clarify. I’ve done many things in my life I’m not proud of. But I’m reformed. The stories I’ve told above happened a long time ago. I don’t have a crew anymore and I probably lack the skilz necessary to gather one now. I never had any interest of being in those situations then and I definitely don’t now. I’ve seen the error of my evil wicked ways and am better of it. Just like the sweet baby Jesus would want. Swear.
That being said, what they have been doing to this country is a total disgrace and they can pay me!
Discover more from
Subscribe to get the latest posts sent to your email.

